State of Delaware BOARD OF PARDONS DELAWARE BOARD OF PARDONS INSTRUCTIONS

The Board of Pardons Application is a fillable PDF. This means you can type directly into the application on your computer or device.

To successfully complete the Board of Pardons Application, please follow the steps below.

 Ensure you have Adobe Acrobat Reader prior to trying to save the form and submit online. If you do not have Adobe Acrobat Reader, please find a free download for the software for the following devices: Desktop Computers | iPhone/iPad | Android | Windows Phone. If you are using a Mac/Apple computer or device, do not fill out the application using

Preview. Please use Adobe Acrobat Reader.

- 2. Download the Board of Pardons Application
- 3. Save the application to your computer or device
- 4. Open the now-saved PDF in Adobe Acrobat Reader
- 5. Complete the application
- 6. Save the completed application to your computer or device

The application does not automatically save your information, even after you have downloaded it. In order to fill in the application and make necessary changes as you go along, you **MUST** save the application to your computer or device prior to inputting any information into it.

DELAWARE BOARD OF PARDONS CHECKLIST

YOU MUST COMPLETE STEPS 1 AND 2 BEFORE PROCEEDING WITH THE APPLICATION PROCESS. THESE TWO STEPS MAY TAKE SEVERAL WEEKS. ALL APPLICATIONS MUST BE FILLED IN ONLINE AND THEN PRINTED FOR SUBMISSION.

Step 1

Request your **Delaware Certified Criminal History** which can be obtained by submitting a **fee** along with your **fingerprints** to the **State Bureau of Identification**. For specific information and locations please contact them at (302) 739-5871. **Please be advised that your Criminal History Report cannot be older than 3 months at the time your application is submitted.** This document must be included with your application.

Step 2

Request Certified Court Dockets and Sentencing Orders and/or Disposition Records for all ADULT dispositions listed as *guilty, found in violation, unknown, unobtainable, transferred, pending, or any JUVENILE dispositions where you were sentenced as guilty as an adult in any court.* Additionally, you must submit certified copies of <u>financial information on outstanding fines, costs, fees and restitution</u>. Contact the courts in the county associated with the offense(s) for further information on how to request the documents. These documents must be included with your application.

Step 3

Once you have received your **Certified Criminal History** and your **Certified Court Dockets and Sentencing Orders**, complete the page titled "<u>Criminal History Review Form</u>".

<u>Step 4</u>

Compare your offense(s) from your "Criminal History Review Form" to the offense(s) listed on the "<u>Offenses that</u> <u>Require a Mental Health Examination</u>." This list can be found on our website. If jail time was served in relation to an offense(s) that requires a mental health examination, you will have to provide a **Mental Health Evaluation** from a licensed professional of your choice. Any mental health examiner performing an evaluation must submit the information requested in <u>Rule 9, paragraph (c) of the Rules of the Board of Pardons</u>. Please be advised that the Mental Health Examination cannot be older than 12 months at the time your application is submitted.

Step 5

Complete the entire **Delaware Board of Pardons Application for Pardon**, which can be found on our website, **pardons.delaware.gov**, by typing in your responses online and then printing all forms once complete.

Step 6

Complete the **<u>Affidavit of Mailing</u>** by typing in your responses online and then printing once complete. This form must be signed and notarized. Include the original Affidavit in your application and mail copies to the individuals listed on the form.

Step 7

To request a telephonic hearing due to extenuating circumstances, please complete and submit the Hardship Form with the application. Please be aware that this request is subject to approval and a telephonic hearing is not guaranteed.

<u>Step 8</u>

Assemble all of your documents, including the criminal history report and the court dockets, and attach them to the appropriate sections as specified in the application. Once assembled, make one copy of **EVERYTHING** (so you will have a total of 2 complete packets). Use a paper clip or binder clip to attach your documents together for each packet. **Stapled documents will not be accepted**.

Step 9

Keep one copy of your application packet for your records and mail the original packet to:

Board of Pardons Secretary of State's Office 401 Federal Street, Suite 3 Dover, DE 19901

If you have any questions, contact the Board of Pardons at (302) 739-4111, Option 2, or by email at pardons@delaware.gov. Visit us online at pardons@delaware.gov.